Block and delete users

What is blocking & what happens when I block someone?

You can block someone to unfriend them and prevent them from starting conversations with you or seeing things you post on your profile.

People you block can no longer:

  • See things you post on your profile
  • Tag you
  • Invite you to events or groups
  • Start a conversation with you
  • Add you as a friend


Blocking is reciprocal, so you also won't be able to do things like start a conversation with them or add them as a friend. Keep in mind that blocking someone may not prevent all communications or interactions, such as in apps or groups, and only affects your experience on Facebook, not elsewhere on the web.

Note: Removing a block will not restore the friend connection. If you block a friend and then remove that person from your block list, you'll need to send them a new friend request.


How can I stop someone from contacting me?

If someone’s bothering you on Facebook, the best way to stop them is to block them. Other ways to limit someone's ability to contact you include:

  • Unfriending them -- Only your friends can post on your Timeline. You can also change your settings to prevent anyone from posting on your Timeline.
  • Block them in Messenger -- When you block someone in Messenger, they'll no longer be able to contact you (ex: send you messages, call you) in Messenger.


How do I block someone?

To block someone:

      • Click at the top right of any Facebook page.
      • Click How do I stop someone from bothering me?
      • Enter the name or email address of the person you want to block and click Block.
      • If you entered a name, select the specific person you want to block from the list that appears.
      • People will not be notified when you block them.
      • If you can't find someone using this method, try going to the person's profile and selecting Block from the menu on their cover photo.
      • If you still can't find the person you want to block, it's possible that this person no longer uses Facebook or has restricted their privacy settings. Keep in mind that you can always control the audience of stuff you share.